Sort of Wagamama Bang Bang Cauliflower (v)

IMG_4877

Sort of because it wasn’t the same as the actual dish at Wagamama, but it was very delicious. And also sort of because I clearly didn’t use cauliflower. It’s broccoli. I know it’s broccoli. Cauliflower is currently out of season and therefore unavailable.

This was searingly hot, just as it should be, but tempered with the sweetness and sourness that allows you to be able to eat it. I served with katsu quorn nuggets and lots of rice.

To make enough sauce for 4 portions you need:

  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 2-3 tbsp agave nectar (adjust to taste depending on the fierceness of the chilli heat)
  • 2 tsp red chilli flakes
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • fresh coriander and fresh sliced chilli to garnish
  1. Place all the ingredients into a pan and slowly heat. Simmer and reduce until thickened. You need to lose about 1/3 to 1/2 of the original volume of liquid to get the right consistency.
  2. Steam your veggies and once done pour the sauce over. Garnish and serve.

Rose Elliot’s Lentil Croquettes (v)

IMG_4904

After a week on holiday eating and drinking whatever we wanted, I thought it was about time to get back into the kitchen and prepare something vaguely nutritious… These hit the spot. I love red lentils but usually just lob them into a dhal. I forget how lovely they are in their own right.

Rose’s recipe is very simple to follow. I added 2 tsp of marigold stock powder to the lentil cooking water as I like to boost the flavour a little. The mixture was also a little sloppy after I added the lemon juice and onions so I added 100g fresh breadcrumbs to stiffen it a little before shaping into croquettes. They were delicious hot for our tea and also nice cold for my lunch the following day. Enjoy!